Stereo stand to craft tower

This old stereo stand had been languishing in the kids’ playroom — and my office — for several months:

I thought it had great potential for craft storage, and decided to give it a new look.

First came a coat of chocolate brown paint for the outside, a coat of Antique Gold for the shelves, and a Command hook for the side:

For the inside I chose my favorite peacock paper from Paper Source:

I gathered craft stuff that was scattered all over the house, and some random containers were given a new life. I didn’t want things matchy-matchy, and neither did I want to spend any money. Everything was done with items I already had.

Here you can see some of my paper crafting and sewing supplies:

Paper punches, threads and ribbons, and my blank card packs. I have so many, I really need to start using them!

On top, my pencils and markers, decorative scissors, various adhesives, and random bits and bobs, along with a tray I painted a while ago with my newest craft book:

Yes, it is The Martha’s Holiday Crafts book, and it is awesome. Some of the crafts are a little advanced to do with my boys, but I’m working on adapting a few.

So here it is, my sweet little craft station. I love that I transformed it without spending a cent and that it is now a useful piece instead of just storing old VHS movies and gathering dust.

I hope you enjoyed this makeover!

Featured At Serenity Now

It's OverflowingThursday Favorite ThingsWeekend Bloggy Reading The Shabby NestFurniture Feature FridaysPositively Splendid

22 thoughts on “Stereo stand to craft tower

  1. You are queen of transforming stuff.
    I would have never thought to paint and make it anything else, I would have been hauling out to the curb! ha. GO girl, it looks amazing.

  2. That looks great. I want to try my hand at painting some pieces that I’ve had forever – like a cedar chest from my ex-husband when we were dating almost 40 years ago! It needs some updating, wouldn’t you think?

  3. I’m so glad I found this! We got Ava an ugly old dresser at the thrift store & I’ve been trying to find a fun way to jazz it up. This gives me so many ideas!

Leave a comment